INDIVIDUAL PERFORMERS

Ma Rainey http://www.redhotjazz.com/rainey.html

http://library.thinkquest.org/10320/Rainey.htm

http://www.rockhall.com/hof/inductee.asp?id=174

 

 

Bessie Smith http://www.cr.nps.gov/delta/blues/people/bessie_smith.htm

http://www.redhotjazz.com/bessie.html

http://www.pbs.org/jazz/biography/artist_id_smith_bessie.htm

http://www.rockhall.com/hof/inductee.asp?id=190

http://bluesnet.hub.org/readings/bessie.html

 

 

Ida Cox  http://www.redhotjazz.com/idacox.html

http://www.aaregistry.com/african_american_history/1379/Ida_Cox_Blues_woman_of_the_times

http://www.georgiaencyclopedia.org/nge/Article.jsp?id=h-3175

 

 

Lonnie Johnson http://www.redhotjazz.com/ljohnson.html

http://www.answers.com/topic/lonnie-johnson

 

 

Blind Lemon Jefferson http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/JJ/fje1.html

http://www.answers.com/topic/blind-lemon-jefferson

 

 

Son House  http://www.cr.nps.gov/delta/blues/people/son_house.htm

http://physics.lunet.edu/blues/Son_House.html

http://slidingdelta.com/bluesmen/sonhouse2.html

 

 

Robert Johnson  http://xroads.virginia.edu/~MUSIC/rjhome.html

http://www.rockhall.com/hof/inductee.asp?id=134

http://www.cr.nps.gov/delta/blues/people/robert_johnson.htm

 

 

Big Bill Broonzy http://www.broonzy.com/

http://shs.starkville.k12.ms.us/mswm/MSWritersAndMusicians/musicians/BroonzyBill/BillBroonzy.html

http://www.broonzy.com/bio.html

 

 

Sonny Boy Williamson http://www.bluesworld.com/GDWSonnyboy.html

http://bluesnet.hub.org/readings/sbwII.html

http://www.cr.nps.gov/delta/blues/people/sonnyboy_williamson.htm

 

 

Memphis Minnie http://www.answers.com/Memphis%20Minnie

http://www.cr.nps.gov/delta/blues/people/memphis_minnie.htm

http://memphisminnie.com/

http://www.southernmusic.net/minnie.htm

 

 

Little Walter http://physics.lunet.edu/blues/Little_Walter.html

http://www.celticguitarmusic.com/harmlw.htm

http://www.geocities.com/BourbonStreet/Square/4831/page5.html

 

 

Howlin’ Wolf  http://www.furious.com/Perfect/wolf/

http://www.novia.net/~cedmunds/

http://www.rockhall.com/hof/inductee.asp?id=121

http://www.cr.nps.gov/delta/blues/people/howlin_wolf.htm

 

 

Muddy Waters  http://www.cr.nps.gov/delta/blues/people/muddy_waters.htm

http://www.muddywaters.com/ (official site)

http://www.pbs.org/wnet/americanmasters/database/waters_m.html

http://www.rockhall.com/hof/inductee.asp?id=208

http://www.mudcat.org/muddy.cfm

 

 

B. B. King  http://www.bbking.com/

http://www.achievement.org/autodoc/page/kin2bio-1

http://www.answers.com/topic/b-b-king

http://www.cr.nps.gov/delta/blues/people/bb_king.htm

 

 

Freddie King  http://www.freddiekingsite.com/

http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/KK/fkimt.html

http://www.answers.com/topic/freddie-king

 

 

T-Bone Walker  http://www.rhythmandtheblues.org.uk/artists/tbonewalker.shtml

http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/WW/fwaap.html

http://bluesnet.hub.org/artists/tbone.html

 

 

Stevie Ray Vaughan  http://www.awpi.com/SRV/ (many links)

http://www.hotshotdigital.com/WellAlwaysRemember.4/StevieRayVaughanBio.html

http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/VV/fvakr.html

http://guitar.about.com/library/weekly/aa010999a.htm (net guide)

 

 

Derek Trucks  http://www.derektrucks.com/

http://blogcritics.org/archives/2006/05/15/090500.php (interview)

 

 

Susan Tedeschi  http://www.susantedeschi.com/

http://video.aol.com/video-category/tedeschi-susan/1003_291012 (videos on AOL)

 

 

Joe Bonnamassa  http://www.jbonamassa.com/

http://www.modernguitars.com/archives/001782.html (interview)

 

 

Jonny Lang  http://www.jonnylang.com/

 

 

Kenny Wayne Shepherd  http://www.kennywayneshepherd.net/

 

 

Bonnie Raitt http://www.bonnieraitt.com/

http://www.rockhall.com/hof/inductee.asp?id=175

 

 

Paul Butterfield  http://www.bluesharp.ca/legends/pbfield.html

http://www.celticguitarmusic.com/harmbutterfield.htm

http://www.answers.com/topic/paul-butterfield

 

 

Moo's Blues

Text Box:

Hum 2B: A Cultural history of the blues

Bessie Smith

Ida Cox

Son House

Robert Johnson

Memphis Minnie

Muddy Waters

Big Bill Broonzy

Howlin’ Wolf

Muddy Waters

Freddie King

Stevie Ray Vaughan

Susan Tedeschi

Bonnie Raitt

Paul  Butterfield